Transferring a Customer from One Unit to Another
To transfer a customer from one unit to another (this feature is only available for 30 days after the rental).
1. Go to the customer's account
2. Click Rent Unit
3. Choose the unit they are transferring out of under the Transfer from drop down box
4. Rent the unit as if it were the first move in:
a. choose the unit type and unit number
b. charge deposit (mark as previously paid if they paid on the last unit)
c. Use same pro-rate and change move-in date to original date
5. In the summary box at the bottom you will see that there is a rental transfer credit.
a. if the new unit is the same price and the one they are being transferred out of the total owed should show zero
b. if the new unit is more than the one they are being transferred out of the total owed should show
c. if the new unit is less than the one they are being transferred out of the total owed should show a credit
NOTE: When you do a transfer it will AUTOMATICALLY give them credit for anything they have already paid towards the unit they are being transferred out of. If you do not want the payment to transfer with the unit you will want to move the customer into the new unit and then when you are sure everything shows correct move them out of the old unit.
If they have been in their unit for more than 30 days: you will want to move the customer into the new unit, make sure everything shows correctly and then move them out of the old unit.